Geodiscovery / In the Ocean / IODP National

International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP) - National

New Zealand participates in IODP through the Australian and New Zealand IODP Consortium (ANZIC)

New Zealand IODP Participation (2015-2023)

A national membership structure was established in 2014 and includes GNS Science, NIWA, Otago University, and Victoria University of Wellington.

Currently, researchers and students at these institutions are eligible to apply to sail on upcoming expeditions, participate on IODP panels and serve as lead proponents on drilling proposals. All direct costs of participating in expeditions and attending IODP meetings and workshops are covered by ANZIC. New Zealand-based researchers are not eligible for post-cruise research grants or analytical funding.

New Zealand IODP Participation (2012-2013)

As a stop-gap measure to allow New Zealanders to continue participating in IODP through the end of the current program in 2013, Australia invited New Zealand institutions to remain a part of IODP through Australia by paying a minimum annual membership fee of AU$20,000. GNS Science, Victoria University of Wellington, Otago University and the University of Auckland accepted this invitation and received the same entitlements as Australian universities and research institutions for this two year period.

New Zealand IODP Participation (2008-2011)

From 2008-2011, New Zealand contributed a 5% national membership (US$280,000) to IODP as part of the Australian and New Zealand IODP Consortium (ANZIC). Together with Australia's 25% national membership fee, ANZIC had a 30% associate membership in IODP. Participation on IODP panels and expeditions is governed by the membership level; New Zealand was entitled to one shipboard position and one primary panel representative per year under this arrangement. Seven institutions and the New Zealand government contributed to the New Zealand annual membership fee (GNS Science, Victoria University of Wellington, University of Otago, University of Auckland, University of Canterbury, University of Waikato and NIWA).

After failing to secure additional government funding, New Zealand was forced to relinquish its national membership on 6 December 2011.

Governance structure

The NZ IODP committee is made up of two representatives from GNS Science as the lead organisation and one representative from each of the participating universities and research organisations. The committee chairperson is also a member of the ANZIC governing council. New Zealand is entitled to two positions on the ANZIC Science Committee.

The current DrillNZ (NZ IODP and ICDP) committee membership is: Stuart Henrys (chairperson, GNS), Giuseppe Cortese, Richard Levy, Rupert Sutherland (GNS), Andrew Gorman, Virginia Toy, Gary Wilson (University of Otago), Tim Naish, John Townend (Victoria University), Rob McKay (ANZIC Sci. Comm., Victoria University), Phil Barnes, Joshu Mountjoy (NIWA). Observers: Ingo Pecher, Lorna Strachan (University of Auckland).

Benefits to New Zealand Scientists

As New Zealand had to relinquish its national membership in 2011, only scientists from institutions that have joined ANZIC by paying a membership fee are eligible to sail on IODP expeditions, participate on IODP panels or serve as lead proponents on drilling proposals.

All NZ-based researchers are entitled to lodge requests for samples or data from IODP, ODP and DSDP expeditions through IODP.

NZ researchers are also welcome to visit the IODP Micropalentology Reference Centre at GNS Science, Lower Hutt, which contains reference sets of microfossil samples and slides from DSDP, ODP and IODP expeditions (currently up to ODP Leg 189). Loans can be arranged in special cases.

ANZIC welcomes applications to sail on any IODP expedition from NZ researchers at member institutions. Learn how to apply here.

Recent New Zealand Participation on IODP Expeditions

Since joining IODP in 2008, New Zealand scientists have participated on seven IODP expeditions, six utilising the riserless drilling vessel JOIDES Resolution and one on the riser drilling vessel Chikyu:

IODP Masterclass

A Geosciences Masterclass has been held at CSIRO in Perth (December 2014). Three students from New Zealand participated, with funding from ANZIC: Edward Perkins, Briar Taylor-Silva (University of Otago) and Matthew Reeve (Victoria University of Wellington).

IODP Links

- International Ocean Discovery Program (IODP)

- Australia and New Zealand IODP Consortium, ANZIC IODP

- NZ IODP email contact

Upcoming New Zealand Participation on IODP Expeditions